How Do I Get A Copy Of My Crash Report?

If you were involved in a motor vehicle accident in the state of Florida, you need a copy of your crash report. When you file a claim with the insurance company, they will likely request a report to help decide what damages to reimburse. Luckily, we provide a copy of your crash report for free. At zero cost to you, you can save time and stress even before you start an insurance claim or any other legal action.

When you call 911 after a crash, a law enforcement officer creates a report that serves as an impartial record of the incident. Florida law requires you to report crashes that result in injury, death, or significant property damage. Regardless of the severity of your accident, it’s always in your best interest to report it.

After checking whether everyone involved needs medical attention, the reporting officer will document in a crash report:

  • The conditions of the road at the time of the accident
  • Any damages to the vehicles involved
  • The names, addresses, dates of birth, and driver’s license numbers of all parties involved
  • The exact location at which the accident occurred
  • Statements from any other third-party witnesses to the crash
  • An official narrative of the accident
  • An accident diagram form, including an aerial sketch of the accident

These facts could help support your insurance claim and protect you in the event that the company tries to blame you for the crash and deny your claim.

What Happens Once an Officer Takes a Report?

The officer will file a crash report with the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT). The FDOT, which manages all official crash report data, will process the report and add it to the state’s crash data. It may take up to 10 days for your report to appear in the FDOT database. After 60 days, your crash report data may become available to the public upon request.

The FDOT charges a $10 fee to provide a copy and limits customers to a total of ten reports per transaction. They also apply a $2 convenience fee to each transaction. You can request a copy of your crash report from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles both online and by mail.

You can avoid those fees and the hassle of their forms because we can provide your crash report faster and for free. We believe you should never have to pay for information you have a right to access. Because of this, we never charge processing or convenience fees to access your official Florida crash report. Simply provide us a few details about your crash, and we’ll do the rest.


Get a FREE Copy of Your Crash Report Today!

Forget the long lines at state agencies and unnecessary fees. Get a copy of your crash report at no cost to you!

Common Questions About Obtaining a Florida Crash Report

Section 316.066 of the Florida Statutes regulates the completion and distribution of all motor vehicle accident reports. Under this statute, any of the following people may request access to a crash report:

  • Any party involved in the accident
  • The insurance carriers of any involved parties
  • The attorneys representing any involved parties
  • An employer of any involved parties
  • A parent or legal guardian of any involved parties
  • Any qualified and licensed radio station, television station, or other public media entity that circulates local news and/or crash data
  • The owner or lessee of any property that was damaged in the accident
  • Any federal or local government agency
  • Anyone who intends to file a wrongful death suit as a result of a fatality that the accident caused

This list is not exhaustive.

Right here, for free. You can also request a crash report from FDOT in person, online, or by mail for a fee. Most reports become available for parties involved with the crash10 days after it has been filed. Because of privacy laws, your report will not be available for public request until 60 days after it has been filed.

In-person requests for crash reports may be made at the nearest Florida Highway Safety locations. A list of locations is available at this link. You can avoid potentially long lines and crabby officials by requesting your crash report for free right here.


Another way to request a crash report is by mail. This process may take four to six weeks. A formal request including a description of the crash report, a signed statement seeking access to the report, and payment may be mailed to:

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Crash Records
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28
Tallahassee, FL 32399

Checks or money orders must be made payable to “FLHSMV.”

Unfortunately, the only options for requesting a motor vehicle accident report in the state of Florida are in person, online, or by mail. If you have further questions regarding the crash report request process, you can call the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles at (850) 617-2000.

How to Get Your Crash Report Online

Being involved in a motor vehicle accident can be a stressful experience. Between seeking treatment for injuries, getting your car fixed, and dealing with the insurance companies, there’s a lot to handle. Make the process easier for yourself and everyone else by requesting a crash report today.

It costs you no money and could make your insurance claim and lawsuit much easier. We’ll make accessing your crash report as easy as possible. With our help, you can request your crash report for free right now. Skip the FDOT lines and fees. Click here to get started today!

Request Your FREE Crash Report Today!

Fill out our brief questionnaire, and we’ll recover a completely FREE copy of your official Florida crash report.

We were founded on a mission to assist people who were involved in car wrecks in Florida by providing giving them access to the resources they need. By providing free crash reports, helpful advice, and connection to legal and medical resources, we hope you can put your accident behind you once and for all.
© 2024 Copyright Free Florida Accident Report – All rights reserved
Powered by Free Florida Accident Reports